Having a good understanding of the digital camera modes is essential to control the exposure in photography. Whether you are a beginner or an advanced amateur, you should know what each camera mode does and when it should be used.

Types of Camera Modes:

1.      Program Mode

While your camera is in Program mode, it automatically chooses the Aperture and the Shutter Speed. It is an ideal choice for point and shoot moments.

2.      Shutter-Priority Mode

In Shutter Priority mode, after the camera’s shutter speed is set manually, the camera automatically selects the right aperture. This mode can be a useful choice when you want to freeze the motion or create a blurry effect.

3.      Aperture-Priority Mode

In Aperture Priority mode, you have to manually set the aperture and then the camera selects the right shutter speed for you. The user has complete control over subject isolation and depth of field.

4.      Manual Mode

Manual mode allows complete control of Aperture and Shutter Speed. This mode can be used when the camera can’t figure out the correct exposure in extreme lighting situations.